LibGuides: Resources on the History of the US Army Corps of Engineers: Home

Researching Military Records?

The HQ/HECSA Library does not hold military records. Use this guide for researching military and civilian records.

Quick Link-Army History

U.S. Army Center of Military History
Center of Military History reports to Army Training and Doctrine Command; collects and disseminates Army history through its field history activities, historical studies, and collection of Army material culture.

Office of History, US Army Corps of Engineers, HQ

The Office of History at USACE, HQ collects and preserves the history and heritage of the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers. The office maintains an extensive artifact collection as well as primary sources including personal papers, journals, manuscripts, images, maps, oral histories, and books.

Library of Congress

District of Columbia Office of the Surveyor Maps from the 18th - 20th Centuries related to the development of Washington, DC
Historic American Buildings Survey / Historic American Engineering Record / Historic American Landscapes Survey The collections document achievements in architecture, engineering, and landscape design in the United States and its territories through a comprehensive range of building types, engineering technologies, and landscapes.
Maps from the 1860s and the Civil War related to U.S. Army Engineer Nathaniel Michler
Maps from the Corps of Topographical Engineers
Maps of World War II, 12th Army Group Engineer Section
Prints and Photographs Online Catalog

National Archives

Digital Content from the Office of the Chief Engineer (Record Group 77) Record Group (RG) 77 at the National Archives holds the records of the Office of the Chief of Engineers. This link is to the images in RG 77.
Digitized Civil Works Map Collection from the Office of the Chief Engineer (Record Group 77)
Military Maps Collection from the Office of the Chief Engineer (Record Group 77)
Moving Images from the Office of the Chief Engineer (Record Group 77)
Photographs from the Commission of Fine Arts (Record Group 66) Images within this collection relate to USACE's involvement in the development of Washington, DC
Photographs from the Office of Public Buildings and Public Parks of the National Capital (Record Group 42) USACE's history in the development and construction of Washington, DC can be found within this record group.

Non-Federal Repositories

Historical Society of Washington, D.C. Printed materials, maps, and photographs related to the District of Columbia.
Historic Photographs of St. Mary's Falls Canal and Locks US Army Corps of Engineers images of the construction of the Soo Locks dating from ca. 1885 to 1941.
NavSource-Photographic History of US Army Ships Information and sources not previously available through private photo collections and records. Items have been donated and made publicly available.
Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County: Inland Rivers Photograph Collection Photographs from the Inland Rivers Library of the Ohio, Mississippi, Monongahela, Missouri, Allegheny, and several other rivers, including construction of locks and dams, floating plant such as dredges and snagboats, and other river scenes
University of Wisconsin-La Crosse Historic Steamboat Photograph Collection Over 40,000 photographic images of steamboats including some Corps of Engineers vessels on the inland waterways of the United States, primarily the Mississippi, Ohio and Missouri rivers and their tributaries.

Librarian

Adriana Ercolano

Email Me

Contact:

USACE HQ
HECSA Library